14 Things I Do To Actively Love My Blackness

19056158255_567206c741_b

For the past month, I’ve spent my time in San Antonio participating in a program titled the African American Literatures and Cultures Institute under the supervision of the incredible Dr. Joycelyn Moody and Dr. Howard Rambsy. Through the program, I’ve made a pretty tight clique of young scholars on the path of reaching greatness in Black Studies. Through all the immense gains I’ve gotten this summer, I can’t help but to admit that my Black progress has been juxtaposed with a summer of Black pain and suffering on a national and international scale. This summer has been characterized by more incidents of police brutality against children such as the pool party in McKinney, Texas. Racism reared its ugly head and manifested itself in Dylann Roof, a white supremacist who took the lives of nine Black churchgoers at the historic AME Church in Charleston, South Carolina. The Dominican Republic is currently in…

View original post 368 more words

14 Things I Do To Actively Love My Blackness

Leave a Reply

