Be Enraged

queenymom

image

In the aftermath of the Duggar scandal I was outraged and heart broken. I was sexually abuse as a minor by a ‘Christian’ who was in his mid twenties. I have told very few people my story. I have been shamed into silence. Even after telling my parents a couple years later it was as if I never said anything and the man is still welcomed in my parents home. This reinforced my shame and the manipulation that it was somehow my fault and that I just needed to forgive and forget. I had confided in one close friend shortly after the period of abuse ended (it lasted about 3 months physically) and she informed me a couple weeks later that she decided to ‘just get over it, it wasn’t that big of a deal’. They were friends and her being upset with him was making relationships difficult to navigate. Therefore…

View original post 1,052 more words

Be Enraged

Leave a Reply

