Dealing with Patriarchy and Sexism on Social Media

educatedblackgirl

I was inspired to write this piece because the my first post was apparently rather controversial. It was my family that has given me the push to write this piece. More specifically, my father and uncle. I love them, but it was rather interesting to receive calls from both of them telling me to calm down with my Facebook posts and what I say online. They went along the lines of “We’re concerned for your safety.”

There were so many things that upset me about this, and I hope to address most of them if not all.

First and foremost, I can post whatever the hell I want on my Facebook wall. You don’t like it, then unfriend me. I am an adult. Before I started this blog, I used Facebook as my outlet for social injustice. Nothing I said was incorrect, maybe a little controversial, but nothing incorrect. I…

View original post 562 more words

Dealing with Patriarchy and Sexism on Social Media

Leave a Reply

