Why I Know The Equal Rights Movement isn’t a Waste of Time

Inpowered Black Woman

*Image Attribution: By Tony Webster (Own work) [CC BY-SA 4.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

It’s 2012.

I’m so excited because I am finally about to get promoted to a new position within my organization.

This is what I had worked so hard for in graduate school, getting the necessary certifications, and doing what I felt (and was told sparingly) was good work.

And a promotion usually means an increase in pay right?

I wanted to know what I probably would be earning, and asked my friend who was leaving for another position how much he was making.

He only had a Bachelor’s degree and certification, compared to my Master’s degree and certification.

My outlook was wonderful at this point.  I was so excited at the increased opportunities that I thought were going to be available to me.

The Tragic Turning Point

So after interviews and everything else, I get the offer…

View original post 466 more words

Why I Know The Equal Rights Movement isn’t a Waste of Time

Leave a Reply

